Home

The Slap was widely publicised with the tag – ‘what would you do if a adult slapped a child who wasn’t their own at a family barbecue?’ so I assumed I knew what the book was about. I envisaged a Jodie Picoult style modern dilemma trashy novel with characters being introduced with differing views of the incident.  I wasn’t expecting to have to wait until page 44 for the slap to happen, c’mon someone slap someone!

I hated every character (maybe the gay boy, cant recall his name, was a little bit sympathetic) the swearing just wore me down, do Greek people in Australia really take drugs and shag each other that much ?

I really don’t want to read anything else from Christos Tsiolkas.

Leave a Reply

